Nigeria LNG Prize for Science Award 2019

Nigeria LNG Prize for Science Award 2019: NLNG Nigeria ($100,000) Prize For Science.

Nigeria LNG Limited calls for application for The Nigeria Prize for Science, in accordance with its vision of building a superior Nigeria. This year prize for science is endowed by Nigeria LNG Limited (NLNG) to recognise exceptional accomplishments by Nigerians and non-Nigerians alike to for advancing scientific solutions to prescribed problems afflicting Nigeria, as captured by the theme of the year.

The winner(s) would receive an award of one hundred thousand US dollars ($100,000.00).

The theme for the 2018 competition is: innovation in Electric Power Solutions.
Entries are therefore invited from, researchers for work that contribute to the electric power solution especially from a Nigerian perspective.


  • The award is open to all Nigeria and non-Nigerians involved in the application of science to proffer innovations solution to the electric power challenges confronting Nigeria.
  • The work should be of outstanding merit and should have advanced the frontiers of knowledge and /or provided an innovative solution in the area of electric power.
  • The material for consideration must be original and indicate the specific area of merit; all submissions must relate to that particular area.
  • The material in support of the entry must be submitted within the time open for entry submission.
  • Entries, including the supporting documents, must be submitted in six (6) copies.


  • As the intension is to recognise the most relevant and effective solution to specific Nigeria problems, works of collaboration by two or more persons are also welcome.
  • Only one entry per contestant(s) is permitted per competition year.
  • No entry previously submitted for this competition may be considered at a later date.
  • Entries not submitted by the stated deadline and according to stated condition shall not be considered.
  • Members of the Advisory Board or panel of judges or their relatives are not allowed to enter their works for the science prize during their year of services as well as the following year.
  • NLNG staff or their family members are ineligible to enter for the prize.
  • The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence.


  • A panel of judges shall be appointed for the Nigeria Prize for science by the Advisory Board.
  • The appointment of judges shall, as far as possible, reflect and represent a multi-disciplinary approach relevant to the theme, persons appointed as judges are those who have wide experience, peer recognition, good public image and command respect nationally and internationally.
  • The decision of the process shall be final.

Related: How to Download Facebook Lite App

1. Professor Alfrend A.Susu, FAS, NNOM – Chairman
2. Professor Barth Nnaji, FAS, CON, NNOM – member
3. Dr. (Mrs) Nike Akande, CON – member
4. Professor Michael Adikwu, FAS – member
5. Professor Elijah D. Mshelia, FAS – member

All entries must be received by May 25, 2018. Late entries will not be entertained.

Winners will be announced in October and presented to the public at a later date.

How to Apply
Entries shall be sent to:

The Nigeria Prize for science
External Relations Division
Nigeria LNG Limited
Intel’s Aba Road Estate
Km 16P Port Harcourt –Aba Expressway
PMB 5660.Port Harcourt, Rivers State, Nigeria.


The Nigeria Prize for Science
External Relations Division
Nigeria LNG Limited
4th floor, Heron House
10 Dean Farrar Street
London, SW1H ODX.


For more information, visit Nigeria LNG Limited’s website:

Application Closing Date: Not Specific


For questions or enquiries regarding Nigeria LNG Prize for Science Award 2018, kindly drop your comment below. Stay updated by subscribing to Prime Time News via Email.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.