Connect with us


Full list of Lagos state new commissioners and their portfolio 



Babajide Sanwo Olu1

The Governor of Lagos State, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Wednesday, swore in 38 commissioners and special advisers.

The swearing-in ceremony, which was held at the Adeyemi Bero Auditorium, Alausa, Ikeja, signalled the inauguration of the governor’s cabinet for his second term in office.

The Lagos State House of Assembly, after some back and forth, had confirmed 38 nominees for the governor’s cabinet, with the last one, Tolani Akibu, being confirmed less than 24 hours before the swearing-in ceremony.

Full list of Commissioners and Special Advisers together with their portfolio 

Mr Afolabi Ayantayo – Commissioner for Establishment Training and Pensions 

Mr. Jamiu Alli-Balogun – Commissioner for Basic Education 

Mr Gbenga Oyerinde – Commissioner, Special Duties 

Mr. Lawal Pedro (SAN) – Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice  

Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende – Commissioner for Youth and Social Development 

Hon. Ibrahim Layode – Commissioner for Home Affairs and Culture  

Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka – Commissioner for Tourism 

Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu – Special Adviser, Environment 

Mr. Abdulkabir Ogungbo – Special Adviser, Taxation and Revenue  

Engr. Abiola Olowu – Special Adviser, Commerce and Investment. 

Dr. Adekunle Olayinka – Special Adviser, Works (to report to the Deputy Governor) 

Mrs. Bolaji Cecilia Dada – Commissioner for Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation 

Mr. Idris Aregbe – Special Adviser, Tourism Arts and Culture  

Mr. Yakubu Adebayo Alebiosu – Commissioner Waterfront Infrastructure 

Mr. Tokunbo Wahab – Commisioner for Environment  

Hon. Bola Olumegbon – Special Adviser, Central Business District (CBD) 

Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih-Awokoya – Special Adviser Health  

Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts – Local Government Affairs 

 Mr. Moruf Akinderu Fatai – Commissioner for Housing 

Mr. Seun Osiyemi – Commissioner for Transportation 

Ms. Barakat Bakare – Special Adviser, Housing  

Prof. Akin Abayomi – Commissioner for Health  

Mr. Gbenga Omotoso – Commissioner for Information and Strategy  

Dr. Rotimi Fashola – Special Adviser Agriculture 

Mr. Mosopefolu George – Commissioner for Economic Planning and Budget 

Mr. Tunbosun Alake – Commissioner for Science and Technology  

Ms. Ruth Abisola Olusanya – Commissioner for Agriculture 

Mrs. Kaosarat Folashade Ambrose – Commisioner for Industries, Trade and Investment 

Dr. Olumide Oluyinka – Commissioner for Physical Planning 

Mr. Yomi Oluyomi – Commissioner for Finance 

Dr. Jide Babatunde – Special Adviser E-GIS 

Dr Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen – Special Adviser, Political, Legislative and Civic Engagement 

Hon. Sola Shakirudeen Giwa – Special Adviser Transportation 

Dr Mrs Iyabo Oyeyemi Ayoola – Special Adviser, Central Internal Audit 

Mr Ajigbotafe Akinyemi – Commissioner, Wealth creation 

Mr Nurudeen Lanre Yekini-Agbaje – Special Adviser, Rural Development and Chieftaincy Affairs 

Mr Tolani Sule Akibu – Commissioner for Tertiary Education 


Nairametrics reported that of the first 39-man list sent to the Lagos House of Assembly, 17 were rejected by the House.

It took the intervention of the Governor and other stakeholders for most of the nominees in the second list to be approved.  

However, four of the 15 nominees in the second list sent by the Governor were rejected. Notable among them were Sam Egube, the former Commissioner for Economic Planning and Budget, who had also been turned down in the first list proposed by Governor Sanwo-Olu.  

Furthermore, Engr. Olalere Odusote, the former Commissioner for Energy, faced rejection for the second time by the Assembly. 

Download Nairametrics App for breaking news and market intelligence.
    app store banner

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *