Connect with us


27 Rivers lawmakers defect from PDP to APC



Wike Fubara

No fewer than twenty-seven members of the Rivers State House of Assembly, led by Martin Amaewhule, who are loyal to the FCT Minister, Nyesom Wike, have defected from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, to the All Progressive Congress, APC.

The defection is alleged to be unconnected to the unending political tension in the state.

The legislators who had previously initiated impeachment against Governor Sim Fubara cited division in the PDP as the reason for their defection to the APC.

The political crisis in the State came to light following the burning of the Rivers State Assembly Complex on October 29.

In response, the State Governor Siminalayi Fubara was accused by the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Nyesom Wike, of orchestrating the burning of a section of the State House Assembly complex.

The schism in the State House of Assembly prompted some lawmakers to initiate impeachment proceedings against Governor Fubara. This move, however, was put on hold after President Bola Tinubu intervened.

Rivers State lawmakers also passed a resolution condemning the withholding of funds for management of the Members of the Rivers State House of Assembly passed the Local Government (Amendment) Bill 2023 for Second Reading on Monday, among other legislative activities.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *